This Duck is Enough: D&B – Duck & Buvette

This Duck is Enough: D&B – Duck & Buvette

I had been wanting to try D&B ever since it opened its doors over a year ago as the re-invention of the old Shangri-La Plaza Mall favourite, Café Provencal.  But there had been too many other new places to try with Manila’s budding restaurant scene that the visit had been put on the back burner for a while.  A short trip to the mall for an errand suddenly gave me the opportunity to make true to that plan.

There was only one thing I wanted to try: the half duck confit, which was also the specialty of the house.  Although there were a few other rich options on the menu, our group of 3 decided to keep the rest of the meal simple.  We opted for the grilled romaine salad and freshly baked sour-dough bread to accompany our mains.

The grilled romaine salad dressing had just the right amount of salty and tangy which I liked, although I would have preferred a little less drizzled on my greens.  The bread was a pleasant surprise.  We found tiny bits of olives baked in…and I love olives!

Grilled Romaine Salad
Grilled Romaine Salad

Freshly baked sourdough bread
Freshly baked sourdough bread

And now for the pièce de résistance

The half duck confit, which came with ratatouille duck rice, was supposed to be good for 2-3 people.  But it actually came out as more generous than that because the 3 of us could not finish the whole thing.  I’ve had duck confit in several other places but D&B’s is definitely one of the more memorable ones.  The skin was crispy as it should be, with just the right amount of fat to make it a decadent main.  What makes it stand out is the tender and juicy meat that was consistent in all parts of the serving.  The mustard and pickle balanced the richness quite well too.

Half duck confit
Half duck confit

Because we had errands to do, I had to down my coffee in a rush, but even so, I noted that it was a really good cup.  I wished I had more time to savour it.  I googled about their coffee as I was writing this post and learned that they serve Intelligentsia Coffee.  I am no connoisseur but whatever it was, I am coming back for more!

My D&B dinner dates
My D&B dinner dates

Duck & Buvette is located at the 2nd Floor, Main Wing, Shangri-La Plaza Mall, Mandaluyong City

One thought on “This Duck is Enough: D&B – Duck & Buvette

Leave a Reply

