Puritan, Bangkok

Puritan, Bangkok

Bangkok is the foreign city I’ve visited the most – 6 times in the last decade.  I think I could almost act as a tour guide, especially through the foodie destinations I’ve frequented.  Each visit is always a great experience as Bangkok always has something for everyone – the culture vulture, the foodie, the shopaholic, the partyphile, the hipster, I mean everyone!

For this visit, as with my last few ones, I have tried to avoid the tourist-haunts and head for some of the unique places that appeal to my eccentric sensibilities.  One place that fits the bill is a café called Puritan in the Ari district.  This district reminds me a bit of the Maginhawa area in Quezon City, which is more residential than “city” and dotted with unique, cool, and unassuming shops and restaurants.

People who know me well know how much of a vintage junkie I am.  I started early, at age 14, when wearing vintage was not a thing. My love for vintage has progressed from clothes, to small decorative items, to major household décor.  So it’s really a no-brainer why I loved Puritan so much!

The place looks like a house of a cool collector – the kind of stuff I like.  Think Iris Apfel transplanted to Bangkok.  Or think 1998-version Great Expectations movie.  They had a wild mix of paintings, chandeliers and other light fixtures, beautiful china, mismatched old world tables and chairs, all kinds of curios, with plants to brighten up the space.  It was a perfect setting for a great cup of coffee and cake.

puritan3

puritan6

puritan7

The cakes were a story all its own.  Apparently, the baker and owner, who lives right above the café, bakes different cakes each day.  So you will always have a pleasant surprise with every visit.  Everything looked so tempting that it was a challenge to choose!  We ended up getting a very rich dark chocolate with a selection of berries and a mousse-like cake with blackberries.  Heaven!

The Puritan is not for everybody.  But if you love vintage and are charmed with old the old-world and eccentric…then it’s not a bad idea to drop by when you’re in Bangkok.

Puritan is located at 39 Soi Ari 5, Samsennai, Phaya Thai, Bangkok

puritan 2  puritan4  puritan5  puritan1

4 thoughts on “Puritan, Bangkok

Leave a Reply

