5 Travel Hacks for the Pinoy Traveler

My well-worn boots will attest to the fact that I love to travel. It’s one of the few things that can clear my mind and relieve me of the anxieties of everyday living. And so, in my travel experiences, I’ve picked up some tips that have made it more convenient for me (as if I needed more motivation) to get out my travel gear and go.

  1. Check the exchange rate in your country vis-à-vis the country you are traveling to.

I normally bring US dollars when I travel because it is the most widely accepted currency. But recently, I discovered that some currencies actually have a better exchange rate here in the Philippines. Take for example the Japanese Yen and recently, the Canadian dollar. People would actually convert money in the Philippines to get more bang for their buck. It will involve a little research, but if you could stretch your money, it could be well worth it!

  1. Bring foldable umbrellas. And while you’re at it, check the weather.

I used to leave things, like weather, to chance. But, after amassing a ton of umbrellas that I already have too much of to begin with, I realized that I would fare better if I just brought my own all the time. Of course, you have to be aware that these need to be checked in. Otherwise, it will be thrown away together with all the bagoong jars and whatnot in customs trashcans.

  1. Use shower caps to wrap your shoes.

This was the advice that my niece gave me. Every day, the cleaning lady would stock my bathroom pantry with new goodies and I always wondered what I would do with the shower caps so I normally left those behind. But, as my niece pointed out, shower caps make perfect bags for my shoes. It’s not big and messy like plastic, and the elastic secures the shoes.

  1. Hook your luggage keys.

Because of the advent of the tanim-bala, I have started locking my luggage. I never did before because I always lost the keys either during the trip, or after, when I’m storing my luggage. Now, once I lock my bag, I hook the keys (with the help of a key ring) to the zipper of my purse. Then, after the trip, I put the lock and the keys on the zipper of the luggage. Now, I never have to look for them!

  1. Bring your own tabo.

Yes, as I’ve said, this is for the Pinoy traveler. Not all countries have bidets. And like most Filipinos, I really need to use a tabo. Tired of using the tiny plastic cups the hotels normally provide, I went in search of my own travel tabo. I found this foldable beauty in the kitchen section of the local Daiso and knew that it would come in handy. It flattens, so there is no hassle at all in packing it up.

 

Well, I hope you learned something for your next travel adventure! Happy travels!

Leave a Reply

