Nikkei: Japanese-Peruvian cuisine

Nikkei: Japanese-Peruvian cuisine

Rada Street in Legaspi Village has been going through a revival lately.  I remember the days when the only place worth going is the consistently good and no-frills Indian restaurant Swagat.  Now, the street is lined with crowd favorites like Wildflour, Sarsa, and Rural Kitchen.

Another exciting member of the Rada Street posse is Nikkei, the very trendy Japanese-Peruvian restaurant.  I only realized recently that Peru has a very large Japanese community and their former President was, in fact, of Japanese descent.  Now I love Japanese food and have always appreciated Peruvian cuisine.  My first taste of Peruvian food was 9 years ago via the popular New York restaurant Pio Pio.  So this combo is a no-brainer!  I was sure I would love it and I did!

nikkei 8

nikkei 9

My personal favorite were the tiraditos or Peruvian-style sashimi.  We were told that the difference is in the slicing.  We picked the Peruanito (a best-seller) which was white fish, rocoto sauce, cilantro, red chili, potatoes, and other good stuff!

nikkei 7

I also thoroughly enjoyed their Miso Kurobota – which was pork short ribs marinated in miso sauce.

nikkei 5

The seared tuna was also a hit!  The Huancaina risotto it was paired with was sooooo good!!!  I can still taste it…

nikkei 3

Then there were the beautiful appetizers:

Parmesan scallops were such amazing bites!

nikkei 11

The Causa bites, which were soft mashed potatoes were very interesting too.  We chose a salmon topping because we all love salmon.

nikkei 10

Being on the trendy side, the restaurant was perfect for drinks with the ladies.  They had a wide selection (including sake-based cocktails) but my girls and I stuck with the classic Mojito.

nikkei 1

Nikkei has definitely earned a spot on my girls’ night-out go-to list.

nikkei 6

Nikkei is at the Ground Floor of Frabelle Business Center, 111 Rada St, Legaspi Village, Makati.

Leave a Reply

