My Top Shelf Part 2

Let’s get right to it, shall we?

Perfumes

I like my perfumes light and citrus-y. I don’t like heavy and musky scents at all. Ever since my first pregnancy 17 years ago, perfumes give me a headache. My favorite scent is Bond No. 9’s Scent of Peace and I use it only for special occasions. I like L Éclat D ‘Arpage by Lanvin. It is very light and perfect for everyday. Jo Malone’s Nectarine Blossom and Honey is a nice daytime scent, too. JM’s Lime Basil and Mandarin and Serge Luten’s Five O ‘Clock Gigembre is a little on the heavy side and I only use it at night. I make sure to have my menthol stick handy because, as I’ve said, I get dizzy with heavy perfumes.

Hair Products

I have fine wavy hair, well I used to. That was before I had this really awful experience where a salon over processed my hair. Now I have frizzy wavy/curly hair. I apply argan oil to my wet, after shower hair everyday. I use Beaver or Kérastase. Sometimes I use Macadamia Healing Spray, but the scent gives me a headache, too. Bed Head TIGI’s On the Rebound gives my wavy hair a nice curl that stays. For volume and beachy waves, I use Tony & Guy Casual Sea Salt Spray or Lush’s Sea Spray Hair Mist. The Lush spray smells really good, like perfume for the hair. Both provide a nice hold. For styling, Kiehl’s Creme With Silk Groom is a cult favorite. Also works for men’s hair, as my husband uses it, too.

img_6108-2

Make-up

I love make-up. I really do. People who know me would be surprised to learn this as I hardly wear any. Because, one, it’s time consuming to put one and to take off, and two, my skin gets irritated if I wear it too often. Full-on face paint – powder, eyeshadow, liners, blush, bronzer, lipstick – I only wear on special occasions, like birthdays and special dinners.  What I know about make-up, I learned from the internet. Instyle Magazine has a yearly Best Beauty Buys list that I swear buy and where I found most of the products I have here. And these has been tested to be okay for sensitive (pain-in-the-***) skin like mine.

Face (L-R)

Nars Bronzer in Laguna, Nars Blush in Orgasm, Benefit Hello Flawless Face Powder in Champagne, Stila Convertible Blush in Poppy, Benefit High Beam Highliter, Benetint Lip and Cheek Tint, Clinique Chubby Stick (for cheeks) in Apple, Benefit Porefessional Pore Refiner, and Benefit Some Kinda Gorgeous Foundation.

Eyes

Naked 2 Eye Shadow Pallete by Urban Decay, Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler, Billion Dollar Babes Eyebrow Pencil, Smashbox Always Sharp Eyeliner, K-Palette Eyebrow Liner and Powder, K-Palette Eyeliner (bought in Japan for P450, as opposed to P790 here), Benefit They’re Real Eyeliner, Benefit They’re Real Mascara, Benefit Roller Lash, Benefit Gimme Brows.

Lips

Nars Lipstick in Niagara, Honolulu Honey, Dolce Vita, and Schiap. MAC Diva, Lady Danger, Morange, and Ruby Woo. Nars in Dragon Girl, various lip balms by Burt’s Bees, Benefit Lipgloss, Lancome Juicy Tube, Nuxe Lipbalm, and MAC Lipliner in Spice.

 

I don’t really like a well-made up face. For me, a tinted lip balm and a cheek tint does the trick. And maybe a swipe of mascara. What’s important is we take care of our skin first. But most of all, do away with stress and always be happy. That’s the best make-up there is!

 

 

Leave a Reply

