La Cabrera and Sweetbreads!!!

La Cabrera and Sweetbreads!!!

I always knew I would have steak for my sister’s birthday.  She loves it the way I love lechon.  So a week prior to her birthday lunch, we made our shortlist of steak places to go.  There were the obvious choices and the tried-and-tested.  But we finally both agreed to try our luck in La Cabrera, which we have not tried yet despite its having opened its doors in Manila since last year.

lc 6

I liked the ambience.  For a fairly new place, it felt quite lived-in and comfortable.  It looked exactly like an old steak place that your family would have visited for several generations.

lc 1

lc 9

The service leaves more to be desired.  For the food prices, I was expecting the servers to be a bit more knowledgeable about the menu and drinks – which they weren’t.  We learned from a food blogger that we could have the fatty part of the steak re-cooked to get that lovely crunchy fatty taste that I love.  However, when we made the request, we were told flat-out that it could not be done.  It was only when we insisted that he checked with the kitchen and confirmed that it could be done.

lc 7

Our order of steak came with a generous serving of different side dishes.  There was really no need to order anything else!  The first batch was a mix of cold side dishes including chimichurri, tomatoes with alfalfa, olive puree, and more.

lc 3

The second batch of side dishes included corn and cheese puree, barbecued corn, caramelized garlic, and more.

lc 4

I was extremely happy with the steak.  We picked the Bire de Chorizo which is a striploin steak. I take it medium rare all the time – and they cooked it just the way I like it.

lc 5

But the piece de resistance for me, surprisingly, was this beautiful thing called sweetbreads!  This was the first time I tried the delectable piece of organ meat (was told this was lamb or veal pancreas) and I was in heaven!!!  It was just like tasting foie gras for the first time.  So soft, so rich, so flavourful, ooooohhhh, I could not believe it!!!

lc 2

La Cabrera will be forever memorable for me for introducing me to sweetbreads!

lc 8

LA CABRERA Grillado and Bar

Ground Floor, 6750 Ayala Avenue, Makati, Philippines

Leave a Reply

