Airline Review: Qatar Air

I don’t know why, but I’ve always had the impression that Qatar Air was a quality airline. And so, I was pretty excited when I found out that we would be riding Qatar Air from Athens to DOHA, and from DOHA to Dubai. Sadly, after experiencing the service and amenities of Turkish Air, Singapore Air and Thai Airways, I can say that riding Qatar Air was a bit disappointing. They didn’t give vanity kits, they had fewer entertainment options, and the service wasn’t as good either (the toilets were filthy when I used them). The stewardesses looked dowdy in their outfits, and one of them even spent an inordinate amount of time entertaining a male passenger, bordering on unprofessional. The only plus point for me was that they gave a nice kid’s activity kit for my daughter.

Displaying IMG_1008.JPG
Mommy liked the Monopoly play money sticky notes so much that she kept it for herself =)

But other than that, I don’t think I’d pick Qatar for a future flight. DBX isn’t the best airport either (for shopping nor for other activities). Apart from the stores being open 24 hours a day, there isn’t really anything spectacular about the airport itself. For lack of a better description, it doesn’t have any personality. It could have looked much better if there were more greenery, like the airport in Changi, or if they infused some cultural bits here and there. Qatar Air is not the worst airline, but I know I have much better options out there with the same rate as Qatar, but can provide better service.

Leave a Reply

