My HK Marathon Journey (Part I)


On October 21, 2017 (age: 40 years, 2 months and 6 days exactly), I will join a 5k marathon with my daughter. 5k marathon? Big whooping deal for some regular runners, but not for me. The last 5k marathon I ran was when I was in high school, so yeah, I need to train if my goal is to come out of the run alive.

As with most marathons, there is a cause for this run…an important cause that is near and dear to my heart. I am running for (and hopefully with) Hello Kitty! Yes, it’s a Hello Kitty Run here in the Philippines and I wouldn’t miss it for the world.

I work better with concrete goals, so I have outlined my plan for the success of this run, the definition of successful being that 1.) most importantly, I don’t collapse and die; 2. I don’t injure myself or my daughter; and 3.) we finish and be deserving of the finisher’s medal.

So here is where I’m at right now.

June 25- My good friends tag me in the official announcement of the HK run via FB. By tagging me, they have proven that they are GREAT friends, and have my best interests in mind. I respond with a resounding YES!!! I speak with my daughter and we agree to run together just so that in case we come in first place, headline reads “Adorbs Mother-Daughter Win the Marathon,” and not “Crazy 40-year old HK Fan Runs Marathon Solo.”

June 26 onwards – In the days that follow, I watch Youtubers and get advice for diet and running tips. I buy a bag of Muesli and replace one of my meals with muesli and yoghurt (something to do with energy). I also shift drinking my morning fruit shake before I do my morning walks. Daughter and I also schedule our walks to establish a routine. 


July 1 – At around 4 am, I pay for the registration fee. Can’t be too early for this. I don’t want to waste my efforts only to find out that I’ve no slot anymore.

So that’s where I’m at right now. Envisioning abs by October. Planning to craft cat ears as well…Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

